Martin Edwards

Martin Edwards

Martin Edwards is the author of eighteen novels, including the Lake District Mysteries and the Harry Devlin series. The Coffin Trail was shortlisted for the Theakston’s Prize for Crime Novel of the Year, while All the Lonely People was nominated for the John Creasey Memorial Dagger for best first crime novel, and The Arsenic Labyrinth was shortlisted for Lakeland Book of the Year.

Martin Edwards’ genre study The Golden Age of Murder, also won a host of awards and he has been series consultant for the British Library’s Crime Classics. Last year saw their publication of his The Story of Classic Crime in 100 Books. He has edited thirty six crime anthologies, eleven of them for the British Library.

In 2015, he was elected eighth President of the Detection Club, an office previously held by G.K. Chesterton, Agatha Christie, and Dorothy L. Sayers. In 2017, he also became Chair of the Crime Writers’ Association, the only person to have held both posts at the same time.

This year’s speakers